BeaversCubsScoutsExplorersNetworkJoiner Form
Beaver Logo


. . . what it was like to be six?
Every day was a new adventure and fun and friends were what mattered most.
Well in Scouting, we still believe that.

Beaver Scouts are aged 6-8 years old. They are the youngest members of the
Scouting family in the UK. Activities, trips and making friends are all part of what
makes Beavers so much fun for girls as well as boys. As well as earning activity
badges, Beavers Scouts get to go on camps and sleepovers, often for the first time.

They enjoy:

  • being creative
  • playing games
  • going on visits
  • getting to know other people
  • discovering the worlds of science, nature and technology
  • caring – responding to the needs of others in their local, national and international communities


main-cubs2b Cub Scouts, in various guises, have been part of Scouting since 1916. Originally known as Wolf Cubs, they represent the energy, optimism and cheerfulness for which Scouting is famous. Cub Scouts are aged between 8-10½ years old. They are the second section in the Scouting family in the UK. They enjoy new adventures while making new friends along the way. As well as regular weekly meetings, Cub Scouts also enjoy activity days, weekend camps and pack holidays. Boys and girls in Cub Scouts:

  • go camping
  • play games
  • explore the outdoors
  • try adventurous activities – such as climbing, sailing and archery
  • meet people from their local community
  • experience the culture of other countries
Look up adventure in the dictionary and you’ll find Scouts abseiling off the page. We’re the original mud splattered, outdoor adventurers and we’re still going strong. You’ll recognise us by our teal green uniform – but be warned, we could just as easily be dressed for canoeing, caving or swimming! The Scout Section is for young people aged 10½ to 14 years.

Explorer meet at the following location

Let’s face it. By the age of 14, most young people know what they want. Explorer Scouts therefore have a big say in what they do, while being supported by adult volunteers. Explorer Scouts, who are aged between 14 and 18:

  • get to try activities such as power boating, sailing, snow and motor sports
  • deliver campsite services – running activities or helping with site maintenance
  • fundraise and help in the community
  • go on camping expeditions in the UK and abroad
  • go for The Queen’s Scout Award, Duke of Edinburgh Bronze, Silver and Gold and the Explorer Belt (a 10 day challenge abroad) – all recognised by universities and employers
  • train as Young Leaders – working with an experienced adult, they learn how to run activities for young people aged 6 – 14

Scout Network is the fifth and final section of the Scouting movement. Scout Network members take part in a variety of activities, which they undertake and organise themselves with the support of a Scout Network Leader. Example activities include abseiling, camping, circus skills, climbing, go-karting, gorge walking, hiking, pioneering and watersports.